What is the UGC NET Exam Pattern

3 Answers

There are different subjects so the syllabus is also vast. The UGC NET Paper 1 Syllabus covers the topics from the aptitude section. As the exam is conducted for Teaching & Research aspirants, the UGC NET Paper 1 is completely based on research & teaching aptitude questions.

You can check details syllabus for UGC NET online and then make sure to check the syllabus for particular subjects you are preparing for. Using the syllabus you can then plan your study material.


National Eligibility Test or NET 2019 is a national level exam conducted by NTA on behalf of University Grants Commission (UGC).

This exam consists of 2 papers Paper 1 and paper 2. Both are computer-based and consists only objective type questions.

Paper 1 is of 100 marks (50 questions, each of two marks) and consists of sections like– Reasoning Ability, Comprehension Reading, Mental Ability, and General Awareness etc.

Paper 2 is of 200 marks (100 questions, each of two marks) and consists all the questions related to particular subject opted by student.

Total duration of paper 1 and paper 2 is 3 hours.

Hindi and English are the only options to attempt UGC NET. You can choose either Hindi or English language to attempt the paper.



The National Testing Agency conducts UGC NET Exam on behalf of UGC.

Candidates who want to appear in this exam must be aware of the complete UGC NET Syllabus and Exam Pattern.

As per the new udpates, UGC has revised the syllabus and exam pattern of NET Exam.

According to New UGC NET Exam Pattern, there will be no break in between Paper 1 & 2. So, the candidates would attempt both the Papers in a single 3 hours duration.

UGC NET Exam will comprise 300 Marks including both the papers.

Hope it helps!

Related Questions
Top Writers