Which young players went on to become football superstars?

1 Answer

Well, FIFA U-17 tournaments have always been playing a vital role for every aspiring football player. Notably, ever since the tournament got started i.e from 1985, it has given many football superstars who have now created history in the world.

Here are some players who went on to become superstars-

Luis Figo (Portugal) – 1989:

Answer Image

In 1989, FIFA U-17 World Cup used to be known as the FIFA U-16 World Championship. So, FIFA U-16 World Championship has given football superstar from Portugal, Luis Figo. Notably, Figo scored two goals in six matches as Portugal went on to finish as the third-best team. Figo went on to become one of the greatest footballers as he is known as a ‘galactico’ at Real Madrid. Figo is also one of the few players who has played for Real Madrid and Barcelona as well.

Neymar (Brazil) – 2009:

Answer Image

Neymar is considered as one of the costliest players among footballers. His football skills have always been things to learn among young and aspiring players. He has scored only one goal in U-17 World Cup of 2009 but his league matches records are just unbreakable.

Francesco Totti (Italy) – 1993:

Answer Image

Francesco Totti had appeared in U-17 World Championship in which he scored one iconic goal in the match. Despite his team being eliminated from the championship, Totti went on to become the global football star. He became the second-highest scorer of all time in Serie A history with 250 goals for Roma. Moreover, Totti has also given his valuable contribution to make Italy, a winner of FIFA World Cup 2006.

Ronaldinho (Brazil) – 1997:

Answer Image

Ronaldinho is one of those players in the history of football that no one can match his skills on the ground. Ronaldinho scored two goals in six matches as Brazil went on to become the champions. Notably, he has been a part of 2002 World Cup winning team for Brazil.

Toni Kroos (Germany) – 2007: 

Answer Image

Kroos has always been one of the finest players of Germany. Kroos won the Golden Ball award, scoring five goals in six matches in U-17 World Cup. He helped Germany finish as runner-up. He later went on to play for the Germany team that reached 2010 World Cup and UEFA Euro 2012 semi-finals. He won the 2014 World Cup also.

Iker Casillas (Spain) – 1997:

Answer Image

Casillas has always been considered as one of the finest goalkeepers in the history of football. He has been a captain of Spain team and made Spain a winner of Euro Cup 2008, 2012 and winner of World Cup 2010. Casillas also represented Real Madrid in 510 matches in 16 years and Xavi the midfield maestro at Barcelona.

Fernando Torres (Spain) – 2001:

Answer Image

Fernando Torres has been representing Spain since many years now. But audiences have witnessed his philanthropic football skills in U-17 World Championship. Torres has always been a star player in Spain and he has appeared in winning team of Euro Cup and World Cup. He also scored in both the Euro 2008 and Euro 2012 final match, which Spain won.

Related Questions
Top Writers